Mayoral Hopefuls Apparently In No Hurry To File

With Dallas Mayor Mike Rawlings term-limited, this spring’s race to replace him is expected to be a crowded one, even if would-be candidates haven’t found time to file for spots on the ballot yet.

The filing period for the May 4  election opened Jan. 16, and as of Jan. 24, several candidates had filed for the single-member city council seats, but none had filed in the mayor’s race, according to the election’s page on the city’s website.

There’s still plenty of time; the filing period runs through Feb. 15.

The slow start to the filing period shouldn’t be seen as a lack of interest in the office. State Rep. Eric Johnson on Tuesday became the latest to announce his candidacy, joining a field that already reportedly includes Mike Ablon, Albert Black Jr., Scott Griggs, Alyson Kennedy, Regina Montoya, Lynn McBee, Miguel Solis, and Jason Villalba.

For the city council seats, City council member Jennifer Gates filed Wednesday to run again in District 13. See other filings here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *