Taylor Leads All-District Honors for HP

Highland Park senior guard Alex Taylor earned co-offensive player of the year honors as part of all-district boys basketball honors in District 13-5A.

League coaches honored Taylor as well as HP head coach David Piehler, who led the Scots to another district title. Piehler also became the all-time winningest coach in program history with a Feb. 22 playoff victory over Waco University.

Several HP players were recognized on the all-district first team, including seniors Rhodes Crow and Luke Hardenburg, as well as juniors Coleson Messer and Dylan Walker.

Second-team choices for the Scots were Camp Wagner and Preston Taylor. Honorable mention went to Drew McElroy, Jackson Heis, and Davis Lee.

HP had 10 players achieve academic all-district status — Lee, McElroy, Crow, Hardenburg, Wagner, Heis, Messer, Taylor, Todd McPherson, and Thomas Jackman.

Forney’s Nick Bene was named the district MVP. Other superlatives went to West Mesquite’s Kyler Wigenton, Royse City’s Donovan Alexander, and North Forney’s La’Darius Jones.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *