Area Residents Joining NTCAR Hall of Fame

Bill Vanderstraaten, president of Chief Partners, and Scott Rohrman of 42 Real Estate, LLC will be inducted into the 2024 North Texas Commercial Real Estate Hall of Fame in cooperation with NTCAR.

The May 1, 2024, event at the Arts District Mansion, 2101 Ross Ave. in downtown Dallas, will begin at 5 p.m. with a reception and dinner and program at 7 p.m.

Jack Fraker, president and global head of industrial and logistics capital markets for Newmark, will receive the Michael F. McAuley Lifetime Achievement Award. This recognition is presented to an individual who has dedicated countless hours to his or her community, professional organizations committed to the real estate industry, and charitable pursuits during his or her professional real estate career.

Hall of Fame inductee Bill Vanderstraaten founded Chief Partners in 2007 in partnership with Trevor Rees-Jones and the Rees-Jones family. A commercial real estate investment firm, Chief Partners has produced a portfolio of over 80 separate investments through 30-plus operating partners. 

Before founding Chief Partners, Vanderstraaten was an original Fund I partner of Thackeray Partners (now Greystar), a real estate private equity firm. Previously, he worked for CarrAmerica beginning in 1997 and joined Harwood International (previously SPG International) after graduating from SMU. A 1982 graduate with a Bachelor of Business Administration from SMU, he serves as past chairman of the SMU Alumni Association, a past SMU trustee, and a current member of the SMU Cox executive board and the Folsom Institute board. 

Other current or previous civic activities include the Salesmanship Club of Dallas, UT Southwestern board of visitors, chair of the UT McCombs Parents Council, Goodwill Industries of Dallas 
board chair, Goodwill Foundation board chair, and the Elizabeth Toon Foundation Board. Past industry boards and other involvement include chair of NAIOP, TREC Board and Fight Night chair, Arts District management board chair, West End Association board, and Uptown Association board. Vanderstraaten resides in the Park Cities with wife, Mimi, and children, Emily and Will.  

“Bill’s activity in the real estate community has reached far and wide by developing invaluable partnerships in many cutting-edge projects, including the iconic Fields Ranch that will exceed $5 billion of build-out valuation,” said Hall of Fame committee member Greg Cannon. “Additionally, Bill’s service to the Dallas area community and SMU is extraordinary.”

Hall of Fame inductee Scott Rohrman and his 42 Real Estate team focus on a wide gamut of real estate initiatives – from industrial and land investment/development projects to urban re-development and pro-bono projects. His build-to-suit efforts span 40 states and Canada, and his clients include Dick’s Sporting Goods, Best Buy, 24 Hour Fitness, Tractor Supply, FedEx, Frito-Lay, and UnitedHealthcare. 42 also invests in land and speculative industrial projects (with about 10 million square feet of planned or owned land). His passion includes Dallas’ Deep Ellum, which celebrates its 150th anniversary this year. A decade ago, he assembled over 55 parcels. In addition to restoring the remaining vintage buildings, he was behind the 42 murals program where local artists – from 14-year-old students to beginner and veteran painters – added colorful, topical messages to the historic district known a century ago as the live music capital of North Texas. His firm also controls more than 15 properties in The Cedars and 16 in downtown Dallas.

Rohrman started his career at Henry S. Miller Company/Grubb & Ellis, moving to The Stratford Group and Fischer & Company. Known for his pro-bono and charity work, he helped develop St. Philip’s School and Community Center’s 12,000-square-foot retail building and acquired lots for several nonprofits’ low-income housing. He mentors young professionals, is an elder in his church, and has served on the boards of Circle Ten Council of Boy Scouts of America, Downtown Dallas, Inc., The Real Estate Council (TREC), Deep Ellum Foundation, and Carry The Load. Additionally, he served on the State of Texas School Land Board, which oversaw a $6.2 billion portfolio and more than 13 million acres in Texas, benefiting public schoolchildren in grades Pre K-12. He earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration a master’s degree in education at Baylor University, and an MBA at SMU. Rohrman and his wife, Laura, reside in the Park Cities. They have three adult children. 

“Scott’s vision and creativity – unparalleled in this industry — are the catalyst for his legacy projects, yet his flawless leadership skills and love for people are his number one priority,” said Hall of Fame Committee Member Lynn Dowdle.  “Always going the extra mile to inspire others, Scott is a difference-maker, and that’s a benchmark of his huge success.”

Michael F. McAuley Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Jack Fraker has led a distinguished career at Newmark.

In addition to receiving numerous awards from SIOR, NAIOP, and the Urban Land Institute (ULI), he landed a lifetime achievement award from the Dallas Business Journal in 2014. And this isn’t his first time to be recognized by NTCAR – he was given the Stemmons Service Award in 2003. 

In addition to having served on the Board of Governors of the ULI, he was a board member and adjunct professor for SMU and The University of Texas Business School. He serves as a board member of Cristo Rey Dallas College Prep school, and he held former board positions at Hunt Southwest, Cushman & Wakefield, USAA (Realco), the Metropolitan YMCA of Dallas, and Girls Inc. Fraker earned a bachelor’s degree of business administration from The University of Texas at Austin. He resides in Dallas, and his two children also have commercial real estate careers.  

“Jack’s contributions epitomize the gold standards with which this award represents,” said Darrell Hurmis, a co-founder and member of the NTCAR Hall of Fame Committee. “A standout in every respect, he has given back to his community and shaped our industry in so many wonderful ways.”

The Hall of Fame was launched in 1987 when the first six distinguished real estate recipients were Trammell Crow; Lyn Davis; Henry S. Miller, Jr.; John M. Stemmons, Sr. and his brother, L. Storey Stemmons; and Angus G. Wynne. Later additions to the roster included, among others, John Carpenter, Roger Staubach, Henry S. Miller Company; Jerry Jones; Ross Perot, Jr.; Gerald Hines and Jeff Hines; and Ray L. Hunt. 

Share this article...
Email this to someone
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.